Rosy Wertheim-Chamber Music FC102


2 CDs

Rosy Wertheim (1888-1949) wanted to attend the School for Social Work, but her parents sent her to a boarding school in France instead, where she received excellent piano lessons. Rosy decided to continue professionally on the piano and took the state exam in piano teaching in 1912. Thereafter, she studied voice with Dora Zweers-de Louw, whose husband was the well-known composer Bernard Zweers. He immediately recognized her talent and started instructing her in harmony and counterpoint. Later, as her interest in modern music grew — and French music in particular — she began studying with Sem Dresden. In 1921 she was given a position at the Amsterdam Music Lyceum where she taught piano and solfeggio until 1929. In that year, she moved to Paris, where her home became a haven for Dutch artists and composers, and a veritable salon for leading French composers including Milhaud, Honegger, Messiaen, Jolivet, and Ibert. She studied composition and instrumentation with Louis Aubert and forged a strong friendship with composer Elsa Barraine. In 1935, she traveled to Vienna to study with Karl Weigl, who had also taught composers like Mahler, Richard Strauss and Schönberg.

In 1936, Rosy went to the US for a year, where she was active in the Composers’ Forum Laboratory, which strove to call public attention to the work of young composers. In May of 1940, following the invasion and occupation by the German army, the situation deteriorated quickly. From that time on, she continued organizing concerts at home, though conditions only became increasingly oppressive. Sometime after September 1942, Rosy went into hiding in a variety of locations. After the war, Rosy taught for a while at a music school in Laren. Soon thereafter, though, she contracted cancer and was unable to teach or compose. Until her death in 1949, she continued to show interest in all things cultural and musical.

Her complete oeuvre counts about ninety works, most of them art songs and chamber music, the greatest portion having been written in Paris. Her music was published by well-known publishers such as Alsbach (several songs) and Broekmans & Van Poppel (the string quartet, Six Morceaux for piano, and the violin sonata). Despite a sizeable oeuvre of high quality, Rosy Wertheim has been largely forgotten and even now is not included in anthologies of twentieth-century Dutch music. Although her works were regularly performed in the late thirties, most of the works on this CD are first recordings. Rosy’s music is of a friendly, refined and accessible character and possesses great lyrical quality. She focused her talent for harmony first on late Romanticism, but later explored octatonic scales which were quite popular in the Netherlands in the twenties. Her stay in France clearly resounds in her later works, influenced by French Impressionism. The music is never simple or straightforward, containing layering and depth often reminiscent of Brahms.

Irene Maessen-soprano; Eleonore Pameijer-flute; Lars Wouters van den Oudeweijer-clarinet; Remko Edelaar-bassoon; Ursula Schoch-violin; Ásdis Valdimarsdóttir-viola; Michael Stirling-cello; Marcel Worms-piano; Utrecht String Quartet: Eeva Koskinen-violin; Katherine Routley-violin; Joël Waterman-viola; Sebastian Koloski-cello; Cello Sonat: Doris Hochscheid-cello; Frans van Ruth-piano; Trois Chansons: Irene Maessen-soprano; Eleonore Pameijer-flute; Marja Bon-piano


Disc 1
Sonata for piano and violin
1. Allegro con brio
2. Andante non troppo lento
3. Allegro con moto
4. Le Tsigane dans la lune - for soprano, violin and piano
String Quartet
5. Allegro con moto
6. Intermezzo
7. Allegro energico
Trois Chansons for soprano, flute and piano
8. La Danse des Dieux
9. Les deux Flûtes
10. Sur les Bords du Jo-Jeh
La Chanson déchirante for soprano, flute and piano
11. Vous me répétiez
12. Une dernière fois
13. Pourquois pleurez vous, jeunes filles?
Trio for flute, clarinet and bassoon
14. Allegro risoluto
15. Adagio
16. Scherzo
17. Allegro con spirito

Disc 2
Six Morceaux for piano
1. Marche (Allegro energico)
2. Etude (Leggiero)
3. Jeu d’Enfants (Allegretto)
4. Berceuse Slave (Molto Cantando)
5. Danse Champêtre (Moderato)
6. Petite Valse (Moderato)
Four Songs on Dutch Poems for soprano and piano
7. Scherzo
8. Het Narrenschip (A Ship of Clowns)
9. Zang van Salome (Salome’s Song)
10. Herfstliedje (Song of Autumn)
Zwei Lieder
11. Er rauscht und rauscht…
12. Die Insel der Vergessenheit
Trois Morceaux for flute and piano
13. Cortège des marionettes
14. Pastorale
15. Capriccio
Sonatine for cello and piano
16. Allegro appassionato
17. Intermezzo
18. Finale
Drie voorspelen voor “Lanceloet”
(Three Preludes for “Lancelot”)
for flute, violin, viola, and cello)
19. Andante
20. Andante quasi andantino
21. Allegro molto ma non agitato

Add to Cart:

Customers who bought this product also purchased...

Copyright © STORE_COPYRIGHT_YEAR-2017 FutureClassicsMusic